top of page
  • Writer's pictureClub Pres

We have Blog!


A diverse group of "Photo-Nerds"!

Since this is the first blog, I’m going to take this opportunity to share what I think about the club and then give others the opportunity to agree, or not. It was started in 2012 to offer those with an interest, some passion, for taking photos where they could learn, share, and be with other like-minded photo-nerds. While I think we have tried to maintain that attitude I’m sure we have lost some along the way because of this. Our strength, is also sometimes our weakness.

The club encourages those with different experiences, abilities and interests, but with such diversity it is difficult to meet the needs of all. As Spock said, “The needs of the many outway the means of the few.”, but in trying to keep everyone happy, I sometimes wonder if anyone is feeling fulfilled with the club. Are we too diversified to the point that the beginners feel left in the dust, and the more experienced are bored? Are the landscape photographers tired of seeing bird photos, and visa-versa?

While I enjoy a variety of genres, and enjoy helping others as well as learning new techniques if others don’t feel that way are they frustrated with the direction we are taking? While my desire is to create a community where we can come together in our shared interest/love of photography, I’d also like to see smaller interest groups within the group. The c4Birds@googlegroups.com is one attempt to get like-minded “birdbrains” the opportunity to share all things birds.

The other aspect of the club is certainly as a social group, from my perspective. What I sometimes forget is that not everyone knows each other as I do. While I try to get to know most of the members, still some I don’t, there are many that haven’t had the same opportunities. Walks, Party/Picnics, and Meetings should be a time when members get to mingle and find those simpatico spirits!

The club at this point has a pretty good core group, but I believe that new-blood and ideas are essential to the growth and sustaining of this club. There are many “jobs” and responsibilities to keep things moving and as the saying goes, “many hands make light work”. As we continue to move forward it will take a village. I’m really excited about those that have stepped up to take on new duties, knowing that many have outside challenges, if we all just lift a little we all will continue to benefit. Love this group!

25 views1 comment
bottom of page